Children Affected by Disasters

Natural disaster destroys lives at a blink of an eye. It brings suffering, pain and severe strain to adults, and trauma on children. To help children recover, appropriate psychological support is crucial for healthy child development. When responding to a disaster, World Vision does not only provide immediate material aid, but also prioritizes the mental and emotional well-being of children.

After the Wenchuan Earthquake in 2008, the government and expert groups began to realize the importance of post-disaster psychological support. Beginning in 2010, World Vision worked with the Institute of Psychology, China Academy of Sciences to provide psychological support for earthquake disasters in Yushu (Qinghai), Yingjiang and Yiliang (Yunnan), Minxian (Gansu) and Lushan (Sichuan), as well as the mudslide disaster in Zhouqu (Gansu). The support provided aim to help those affected to cope or relieve the emotional stress they faced. 

In April 2015, World Vision worked with the Institute of Psychology to co-organize the first forum about child protection in disasters. In April 2016, we collaborated with Chinese Academy of Sciences again to co-organize a forum about psychological support held in Beijing. During this forum, the Chinese version of the “Minimum Standards for Child Protection in Humanitarian Action” was launched, encouraging relief and humanitarian agencies in China to integrate child protection into emergency responses. The translation of “Minimum Standards for Child Protection in Humanitarian Action” was a joint effort between World Vision China and other organizations.

Visit our Relief & Rehabilitation page to learn more about the disasters World Vision China has responded to in the past few years.

OUR Projects

受灾害影响的儿童

面对无情的自然灾害,在一瞬间痛失家人或家园,容易让人产生痛苦、焦虑和紧张的情绪,成年人尚且如此,对儿童构成的心灵阴影更是不言而喻。为了帮助这些儿童重拾笑容,得到适当的心理支援以健康成长,在应对灾难时,世界宣明会不仅提供即时的物质需求,而且优先考虑儿童的心理和情感健康。

政府部门和一些专业机构在2008年汶川大地震之后发现,大型灾难过后,除了满足灾区的物质救援和灾后重建的关注外,灾后心理援助也是很重要的环节。世界宣明会于2010年开始与中科院心理研究所开展合作,在青海玉树地震、云南盈江、彝良地震、甘肃舟曲泥石流、甘肃岷县地震、四川芦山地震等较大灾害中开展灾后心理援助工作,灾区的社区群众及儿童的压力得到了缓解,情绪得到了释放。

2015年4月,世界宣明会与中国科学院心理研究所合办首届灾害中的儿童保护研讨会;2016年4月,又在北京协办由中科院主办的心理援助论坛,会上同时发布了由世界宣明会组织和其他社会组织共同协助翻译完成的中文版《人道主义行动中儿童保护的最低标准》,以呼吁全球儿童保护机构和民众给予全世界儿童专业的尊重和保护。

项目

  • 儿童天地
    在紧急或灾难发生后, 在灾区的儿童都会因灾害带来的破坏而失去家园、面对受伤及疾病的威胁、甚至失去亲人。他们会有一定的恐慌、感到失落、无助。为了舒缓他们心灵的压力,减低愁闷,宣明会于世界各地的救灾行动中都有设立<儿童天地>。<儿...
  • 灾后心理援助
    自四川汶川地震发生后,我国初步建立了灾后心理援助模式,政府各部门及相关组织都积极参与灾后心理援助工作,同时相关专业部门也投入到谏言和政策方法的研究工作,也提出灾后救援工作分为“生命救援-物质救援-心理援助”三个阶段的全新理念。 宣明会作为...