Migrant Children

Large-scale population migration began in the 1980s in China. In 2015, there were 34.26 million migrant children aged 0-17 in which 28.96 million of them lived in urban areas, accounting for 21.8% of the urban children population. That is to say, 1 out of 5 urban children was a migrant child (from Chapter 4 "Children Affected by Migration” in Population Status of Children in China in 2015 - Facts and Figures, released by UNICEF in Sep. 2017). Most migrant children live and study in the location they moved to for an extended period of time, they are not temporary migrants as people generally perceive them to be. They migrate with their parents, moving to a new location on an average of every four years, in which more than half of children aged 8-13 years migrate after over five years. The long-term and large-scale movement has caused many migrant children to lose their support system such as community support, and they often face challenges and discrimination in their new environment.

In recent years, the impact of population migration on children has become more prominent. In response to this, the government has implemented policies on education, health and social security which focuses on issues affecting migrant and left-behind children. The National Program of Action for Children (2011-2020) has integrated policies and measures of various departments to development goals and action plans for work involving migrant and left-behind children, this includes reducing the mortality rate of migrant children, promoting equal access to compulsory education for migrant children, ensuring basic public services needs of migrant and left-behind children are included in the NPA and carried out effectively.

One of World Vision China’s focus is to improve the well-being of vulnerable children in urban settings. In 2011, we began the "Migrant Children Project" in Guangzhou and Foshan. Through our collaboration with government agencies such as the All-China Women’s Federation, sub-district offices, Chinese Communist Youth League and civil social organizations, World Vision continues to serve migrant children adopting innovative and professional social service models.

World Vision's work with migrant children in other provinces also includes:

  • Education and child protection projects for migrant children in Yunnan Province
  • Child protection and education programs in temporary shelters for migrant children 
  • Migrant children school services project Guangdong
  • Guarding Growth (守护成长)- Rescue and protection of minors demonstration project in Yunnan
  • Migrant children community center project in Guangzhou
  • Migrant children protection and development project in Guangxi

Through our work with migrant children, World Vision aims to

1.Help migrant children build positive relationships with their peers. This includes 

  • Ensuring migrant children aged 6-18 develops healthily
  • Raising awareness and equipping migrant children aged 6-18 to protect themselves and their peers from violence

2. Promote positive parenting amongst families of migrant children. This includes

  • Equipping caregivers of migrant children aged 6-18 positive disciplining skills
  • Equipping caregivers of migrant children aged 0-6 with early childhood development capacity 
  • Raising awareness amongst caregivers of migrant children aged 0-18 violence against children and how to protect them

3. Strengthen communities' ability to care for migrant children and support them to assimilate and build positive relationships. This includes

  • Ensuring there are services and facilities to help migrant children and their families assimilate in the community
  • Equipping the capacity of community social workers to support migrant children build positive relationships with others
  • Support community social workers to hold dialogues about development and protection of local migrant children

OUR Projects

城市流动儿童

中国的大规模人口流动始于20世纪80年代,2015年,中国有0-17岁流动儿童3426万人,其中2,896万人居住在城镇地区,占全部城镇儿童总数的21.8%,也就是说,每5名城镇儿童中就有1名是流动儿童(联合国儿童基金会于2017年9月发布的《2015年中国儿童人口状况——事实与数据》第四章《受人口流动影响的儿童》)。流动儿童大多在流入地长期居住和学习,并不像人们普遍认为的那样是暂时流动。作为父母的随迁者,他们外出流动的平均时间为4年,其中8-13岁流动儿童中有一半以上流动时间超过5年。大规模长时间的离乡使得大量流动儿童失去了他们传统的支持体系如社区支持,在新的环境中面临各种困难和歧视。

近年来人口流动对儿童的影响更加凸显,政府对于流动儿童和留守儿童相关问题关注的角度也更为广泛,出台了一系列教育、卫生和社会保障方面的政策。《中国儿童发展纲要(2011- 2020年)》在整合相关部门政策措施的同时,规划了流动和留守儿童工作的发展目标以及行动措施,将降低流动儿童死亡率、确保流动儿童平等接受义务教育、满足流动和留守儿童基本公共服务需求纳入了儿童纲要目标体系,并积极推动目标实现。

改善城镇化地区脆弱儿童的福祉,是世界宣明会全国工作策略之一。在2011年开始,世界宣明会在广州和佛山开展“流动儿童服务项目”,通过政府部门如妇联/街道办/共青团、社工机构及世界宣明会三方合作以创新的专业化社会服务模式,共同回应流动儿童在城市生活中的需要。

世界宣明会在其他省份为流动儿童展开的服务还包括﹕

  • 云南省流动儿童流入流出地教育发展与儿童保护项目;
  • 以中途之家为枢纽儿童保护和教育项目;
  • 广东流动儿童在校关顾服务项目;
  • 守护成长-云南未成年人救助保护示范项目;
  • 广州流动儿童社区中心项目;
  • 广西流动儿童保护与发展项目。

通过流动儿童方面的工作,我们致力于达成:

     1. 流动儿童具备和朋辈能建立正面积极关系的能力,包括

  • 6-18岁流动儿童获得良好的素质发展
  • 6-18岁流动儿童具备保护自己及同辈免于暴力的意识和知识

     2. 家庭能正面积极地照顾流动儿童,包括

  • 6-18岁流动儿童照顾者具备正向管教儿童意识和知识
  • 0-6岁流动儿童照顾者具备支持儿童学前发展的意识和知识
  • 0-18岁照顾者具备保护儿童免受暴力侵害的意识和知识

     3. 社区能够支持流动儿童与其他人建立正面积极关系,促进更好融合,包括 

  • 社区里有供流动儿童及其他家庭活动的环境和设施
  • 社区儿童工作者具备支持流动儿童与其他人建立正面积极关系的意识和知识
  • 社区儿童工作者就本地流动儿童发展及保护更好实施对话

项目

  • 广西城市流动儿童发展项目
    主要以在城中村开设儿童活动中心作为活动开展平台,推进和开展活动,2012年至2015年共设置了二个中心,包括:1)万秀村社区儿童活动中心:以图书室做为核心的业务,逐步开展与儿童保护及生活技能相关的活动;2)新屋村社区儿童活动中心: 在社区内建立...
  • 云南携手中心服务项目
    云南携手中心服务项目﹕云南省携手困难群体创业服务中心,是于2004年在云南省民政厅注册成立的非营利组织。主要服务贫困脆弱流动儿童以及他们的家庭,应用专业社工手法,通过开展多种形式的慈善服务,改善流动儿童及其家庭在教育、健康、生计方面的现状,促进...
  • 广东流动儿童项目
    从2011年开始,宣明会在广州和佛山开始“流动儿童服务项目”,通过三方合作,加强探索与创新多方合作的专业化社会服务模式,共同回应流通儿童在城市生活中的需要。