Relief and Rehabilitation

Global climate change has led to frequent and more severe natural disasters in many places. The destruction and harm it brings often has lasting impact on families and children, and causes the loss of health and lives.  According to a report by the Ministry of Emergency Management, there were 33 times of heavy rainfall in the country in 2020, with an average precipitation of 689.2 mm. This is 11.2% above the average and the third highest rainfall since 1961. The State Council also focuses on disaster risks and threats. This is reflected in the Opinions of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China and the State Council on Promoting Rural Revitalization and Accelerating Agricultural and Rural Modernization issued in 2021, which emphasizes on “(24)... to strengthen the emergency management and fire safety systems at the county, township and village levels, effectively implement risk assessments, monitoring and early warnings, and emergency responses to events such as natural disasters, public health, and hidden safety hazards”.

World Vision is committed to work with communities to counter the threat of climate change. We equip families, children and communities in disaster prevention and mitigation,this includes assessing disaster risk and planning action plans together with them. We support trainings about disaster, escape and self-rescue. We also help them establish emergency warning mechanisms that consist of designing emergency plans, issuing early warnings, conducting drills, providing equipment and teaching them how to handle and maintain these equipment.  Community members and children who participate can then share the impact of this program, and pass on the knowledge they have gained to their peers.


Our Approach

  • Distribute relief aid: We provide food, education material, daily necessities, hygiene kits, shelter and other relief items to those affected by disaster.  
  • Psychosocial support activities: We work with reputable technical experts to organize and carry out psychosocial support activities for children, adults and relief workers, to support their well-being and ability to cope with stress.
  • Early recovery and rehabilitation: We support livelihood recovery, as well as the reconstruction of school facilities, houses and infrastructure.
  • Disaster preparedness: We integrate disaster preparedness into our long term development work, encourage community participation and equip parents, caregivers, children and vulnerable groups to respond to disasters.
  • Disaster prevention and mitigation: We support work to clear land for afforestation, plant grass to control erosion, construct ditches, river embankment and other water conservancy projects, carry out school and community-oriented disaster prevention and mitigations programs such as drills, raise awareness and install suitable equipment in schools. 

Disasters that World Vision has responded to in 2017 – 2019:

Year  Disaster Relief aid provided Response location Total no. of beneficiaries
2017    Floods in Hunan Province Distribution of rice, quilts, hygiene kits, child-friendly kits, family kits  Anhua County, Lianyuan City, Taojing County 50,328 people
2018  Floods in Hunan Province Distribution of family kits, support the reconstruction of houses affected by the floods Anhua County, Lianyuan City 3,882 people
2019 Floods in Jiangxi Province Distribution of rice and cooking oil Shicheng County 10,700 people

 

In June 2020, heavy rainfall flooded many provinces in southern China. Jiangxi was one of the worst hit provinces. World Vision responded to the flooding in Jiangxi with the support of the Jiangxi Department of Civil Affairs, Jiangxi Overseas Non-government Organizations Administration Office and Jiangxi Charity Federation. On the 11 July, 2020, three World Vision staff members visited Wuyuan County and Shangrao City, Jiangxi Province to assess the damages and immediate needs of those affected by floods.

On the 15 July, 2020, the first batch of relief items provided by World Vision China reached Wuyuan County, Jiangxi Province. The relief items included 1,000 quilts, 300 family kits, 100 child-friendly kits and 100 hygiene kits. Although reconstruction work began when the floodwater receded, incessant rainfall continued to affect the livelihood of many. To help those affected, World Vision China distributed the second batch of relief items consisting of 288 tons of rice, 8,200 quilts, 5,100 family kits, 100 child friendly kits and 100 hygiene kits worth RMB 3.66 million to 56,800 people in Wuyuan County and Pengze County, Jiangxi Province. 

World Vision also carried out disaster risk reduction projects such as providing trainings and safety equipment in schools and communities, so that everyone, especially children, possess disaster mitigation and self-protection skills. It also builds the resilience of the most vulnerable against the risk and effects of disasters. In 2020, World Vision’s disaster risk reduction projects benefitted 30 local partner organizations and impacted the lives of 37,900 people.

OUR Projects

救灾与重建

全球气候变化令多个地方出现更频繁及严重的自然灾害,这些灾害带来的破坏及伤害,往往令社区家庭及儿童的生活成果付之一炬,甚至失去健康与性命。根据应急管理部发布<2020年全国自然灾害基本情况>,2020年,全国共出现33次大范围强降水过程,平均降水量689.2毫米,较常年偏多11.2%,为1961年以来第三多。国务院也十分关注灾害风险及威胁,在2021年的《中共中央国务院关于全面推进乡村振兴加快农业农村现代化的意见》中提到“(二十四)… 加强县乡村应急管理和消防安全体系建设,做好对自然灾害、公共卫生、安全隐患等重大事件的风险评估、监测预警、应急处置。”反映政府对于防灾减灾十分重视。

为与社区居民一起面对气候变化带来的威胁,世界宣明会致力于提升社区中的家庭、儿童及居民应对灾害的能力,包括鼓励与他们一起对于灾害风险进行评估,因应评估结果采取行动以提高应对灾害的能力;共同学习灾害、逃生及自救知识;在社区建立应急预警机制,包括制定应急预案、发布预警及进行演练;同时完善社区防灾减灾设备及管理机制。社区及儿童通过在过程中的付出及贡献,更能共享及传承项目成果。

我们的行动:

  • 紧急救援物资发放:向受灾社区提供食品、教育用品、生活用品、卫生用品、避难所等救灾物资。
  • 社会心理支持活动:与知名技术专家合作,为儿童、社区成员和救济工作者组织了心理社会支助活动,以支持他们的福祉和克服压力的能力。
  • 早期恢复及重建:支持早期生计恢复、学校设施恢复以及房屋和基础设施重建。
  • 备灾工作:将备灾纳入整个发展工作,重点放在社区参与和提高父母、儿童及其照顾者和弱势群体的灾害管理能力。
  • 防灾减灾工作:实施荒山造林、种草治沙、建设排水沟渠、河堤及其它水利工程,开展以学校及社区为本的防灾减灾项目,如防灾减灾演练、知识宣传、为学校安装防灾减灾设备等。

2017年-2019年紧急救援列表


2020年7月15日,世界宣明会第一批救灾物资陆续运抵江西省婺源县,这些物资包括1000床棉被、300个家庭箱、100个儿童包和100个卫生包。时钟前行,洪水退去,重建正在进行;但阴雨连绵,生计受创仍在持续。为帮助灾民度过这一艰难时期,世界宣明会向江西省婺源县与彭泽县捐赠第二批救援物资。截止2020年9月,世界宣明会共向江西省婺源县、彭泽县的12个乡镇捐赠大米288吨、棉被8,200床、家庭箱5,100个、儿童包及卫生包各100个,总价值366万元,56,800人次收益。
2020年6月,强降雨在中国南方多省形成洪涝灾害,江西省是受灾最严重的地区之一。在江西省民政厅、江西省境外非政府组织管理办公室和江西省慈善总会的协调和支持下,世界宣明会回应了江西水灾。2020年7月11日,世界宣明会派出三名工作人员组成勘灾小组前往江西省上饶市婺源县了解灾情和受灾群众的需求。

除对江西水灾进行回应外,世界宣明会继续致力于防灾减灾项目的开展,通过提供防灾减灾培训、演习和防灾预警物资的配备等,提高学校及社区特别是儿童的防灾意识和自我保护技巧,有效降低脆弱人群受灾难影响的风险和程度。2020年,世界宣明会防灾减灾项目共使30家本地组织和37,900人受益。

项目

  • 共同战“疫”│宣明会回应新型冠状病毒疫情
    面对严峻疫情,宣明会已于1月下旬迅速成立了新型冠状病毒疫情回应小组,密切关注疫情发展情况。宣明会计划从项目资金中调拨百万美元用于口罩等医疗用品采购,及公众公共卫生意识改善。 了解如何参与回应疫情,请查看宣明会中国总部香港官网 www.wv...
  • 紧急救援与灾后重建项目
    当有灾难发生时,世界宣明会的紧急救援队伍会迅速前往灾区,了解灾情及灾民的需要,并根据实际情况向灾民发放紧急救援物资,如口粮、临时住所、非口粮物资、生活与卫生用品,并开展相关服务,如儿童保护和心理援助。另外,宣明会也会开展灾后重建工作,帮助灾民恢...
  • 防灾减灾项目
    防灾减灾可以最有效的降低脆弱人群受灾难影响的风险和程度,提高儿童福祉,最大限度的减低灾难带来的损失和伤亡。宣明会亦会致力于提升能力与设备等活动,增加脆弱人群的复原力,特别是儿童防御灾难的意识和能力,及自我保护的技巧。 学校防灾减灾 ...