Health and Nutrition

China has made significant progress in improving child health, as evidenced by the great reduction in under-five child mortality since 2000. According to the "Report on the Development of Maternal and Child Health in China (2019)" issued by the National Health Commission, the mortality rate of children under-five in China has decreased from 61‰ in 1991 to 8.4 ‰ in 2018. 

However, there are still 181,500 children under-five who die from preventable infectious diseases (including pneumonia and diarrhea) and injuries every year (Child Mortality Levels and Trends Report 2015). Development in water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) is key to preventing these deaths from happening. World Vision aims to reduce the mortality rate of children under-five and pregnant mothers, as well as children and adolescents dying from unintentional injuries in the program areas that we operates in, so that more children can reach their full potential and live life to the fullness.

Our Goal: To improve the protection of children under-five from infections, diseases and from being undernourished, to also improve the protection of children aged zero to 18 years old from fatal injuries, so as to contribute to the overall goal of reducing under-five mortality, maternal mortality and fatal injuries among children and adolescent in the places where World Vision works in China. Improve the knowledge of mothers and primary caregivers of children under-two about infant and young child feeding.

  1. Improve the quality of care, and prevent common childhood diseases or infections for children under-five.
  2. Improve maternal health care of women (especially in antenatal care and childbirth delivery skills).
  3. Improve the protection of children aged zero to 18 from injuries (especially from road traffic injuries, falls and drowning).

Our Approach

To promote the health and wellbeing of children, World Vision uses an Ecological Model with three levels: children and families, community, health system and governance, to provide "360 degree support" to the most vulnerable children and their families. 

Change key behaviors of children and their caregivers (families): World Vision has developed a set of behavioral change communication material to nurture change in traditional norms and practices of mothers, caregivers and community members. The communication material addresses topics such as child nutrition, pneumonia and diarrhea, toilet usage, health and unintentional injuries. World Vision also equips Timed and Targeted Counselling (TTC) toolkits for Village Committees and volunteers to do home visits and support mothers to exclusively breastfeed their infants for the first six months after birth. 

Increase community's access to healthcare, injury prevention and WASH services: World Vision supports communities in poor rural areas by strengthening their capacity to reduce environmental hazards, and to also be better guardians so as to reduce child injuries from happening.  

Strengthen the capacity of the health system to respond to health care needs, have stronger links with communities, and effectively implement public education and policies.
World Vision works closely with the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention to provide technical support to local health systems and to improve environmental hygiene. We also support policy research of local health systems and academia in the areas of WASH and child injuries, by developing evidence-based interventions and effective ways to implement policies. 

In 2020, World Vision's Health & WASH projects impacted the lives of 36,000 people.

  • Nutrition for children: Promoted exclusive breastfeeding and complementary feeding in rural communities to mothers and caregivers of children under-two, benefiting 2,951 people.
  • Child injury prevention: Increased community’s understanding about child injuries such as road traffic injuries, drowning and falls, benefiting 3,413 people.
  • Improved drinking water systems and access to clean drinking water in households and schools,benefiting 4,720 people.
  • Built sanitation facilities with safe drainage systems for households, benefiting 1,372 people.
  • Built sanitation facilities and bathrooms in schools, benefiting 2,132 people.

OUR Projects

卫生与营养

近年来,中国儿童健康状况得到明显改善,自2000年以来,5岁以下儿童死亡率呈持续下降趋势。根据国家卫生健康委员会发布的《中国妇幼健康事业发展报告(2019)》显示,中国5岁以下儿童死亡率从1991年的61.0‰,下降至2018年的8.4‰。
 
但是,每年仍然有181,500名五岁以下儿童死亡(《2015年儿童死亡率水平和趋势报告》),可预防的传染病(包括肺炎、腹泻)和伤害成为儿童死亡的主因。水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH :Water, sanitation and hygiene)是阻止这些可预防死亡的关键。世界宣明会以降低我们在中国项目所在地区5岁以下儿童、孕妇死亡率和儿童青少年致命伤害占所有伤害死亡的比例为目标,并让更多的儿童可以充分发挥他们的潜能, 活出丰盛的生命。

我们的目标:改善5岁以下儿童的营养和疾病及感染的保护,也改善0-18岁儿童青少年在致命伤害方面的保护,为世界宣明会在中国项目所在地区降低5岁以下儿童、孕妇死亡率和儿童青少年致命伤害占所有伤害死亡的比例的目标做出贡献。

  1. 改善2岁以下儿童母亲或其他主要照顾者对婴幼儿喂养的知识;
  2. 改善5岁以下儿童的常见疾病和感染的预防与照顾;
  3. 改善孕产妇保健(特别是产前检查及有技能的接生服务);
  4. 改善0-18岁儿童在伤害方面的保护(包括道路交通伤害、跌倒及溺水等)。

我们的行动:

为了确保儿童的健康生活,促进儿童的福祉,世界宣明会采用3个层面的生态模型:儿童和家庭、社区以及卫生健康体系和治理,为最脆弱儿童及其家庭提供“360度全方位支持”,开展儿童营养、综合水与环境卫生及个人卫生、儿童伤害预防等儿童健康项目活动。

改变儿童及其照顾者(家庭)的关键行为:世界宣明会开发了一套行为改变交流材料,包括儿童营养、肺炎和腹泻、厕所和健康以及意外伤害,促进母亲或儿童照顾者、社区成员传统观念和做法的改变。世界宣明会为村委会及志愿者准备了定时和有针对性的咨询(Timed and Targeted Counselling - TTC)工具包,通过家访来支持母亲和婴儿在出生后的头六个月内的纯母乳喂养。

增加社区获得健康、伤害预防及水、环境卫生和个人卫生服务的机会:世界宣明会与贫困农村地区的社区合作,加强社区在减少环境危害、减少儿童伤害以及改善儿童监护习惯方面的能力。

卫生健康系统与治理:加强卫生健康系统应对健康需求的能力、加强与社区的连接、公共教育和政策支持。确保在合作项目中考虑性别平等和残障融合元素。

世界宣明会与中国疾病控制中心相关部门紧密合作,从技术方面支持当地卫生健康系统,改善环境卫生。世界宣明会还在水、环境卫生和个人卫生及儿童伤害政策研究领域为卫生健康系统和学术界提供支持,以寻找有证据支持的干预措施或建立良好的政策实施方法。

2020年,世界宣明会的卫生与营养项目使36,000人受益。

  • 普及农村社区母乳喂养与辅食添加的健康教育,改善2岁以下儿童母亲或其他主要照顾者对婴幼儿喂养的知识,2,951人受益;
  • 普及农村儿童道路交通伤害、溺水及跌倒的健康教育,逾3,413人受益;
  • 改善家庭与学校饮水系统,为社区和学校提供清洁的饮用水,逾4,720人受益;
  • 修建有良好排水系统的卫生户厕,逾1,372人受益;
  • 修建学校卫生厕所与学生浴室,逾2,132人受益。 

项目

  • 水与卫生项目
    水、环境卫生和个人卫生 • 确保家庭有清洁饮用水供应系统及卫生厕所。 • 同时加入健康教育和传播方法,改良洗手行为、照顾有腹泻及肺炎儿童的方法。
  • 儿童营养项目
    定时和有针对性的母乳喂养咨询: 提升社区妇女健康志愿者能力,促进她们使用定时和有针对性的咨询方法来支持母亲进行头6个月纯母乳喂养。伙伴合作和公共教育以支持母乳喂养和儿童营养。 多层次伙伴合作以加强产科机构的爱婴医院行动(母乳喂养...
  • 儿童伤害预防项目
    为了让社区的孩子们得到适当的照顾和保护,宣明会在项目村和项目学校开展了交通安全和预防跌倒伤害的教育活动,希望项目的实施能够让更多的孩子免于遭受交通和玩耍跌倒所带来的致命伤害。参加过活动的村委、家长、学校教师、孩子都能够掌握安全方面的知识,他们也...